Outstanding Coaching Award

The Pacific Masters Coach of the Year award is given to a coach who has demonstrated outstanding coaching qualities.

The criteria for the Coach of the Year award are measured by the following competitive and non-competitive factors:

• Club and individual performance at sanctioned events that reflect the coach's skill and inspiration
• Club vigor, size, and growth, club participation and volunteering, and hosting well-run events
• Outstanding service to Pacific Masters, to USMS, and to other community organizations
• Outstanding professional contributions, such as participation in clinics and published works

Nominations may be made by any Pacific Masters club. A nominating letter and a maximum of four supporting letters from registered swimmers must be submitted to the selection committee by the February meeting of Pacific Masters Swimming. More details can be found in Section 101.8.7 of the Administrative Handbook.

Year Recipient Club
2024 Shari Cruse Marin Aquatic Masters
2023 Andy Brenan Sacramento Masters Swimming
2022 Dana Kirk Fremont Hills Masters
2021 Donita Flecker Sebastopol Master Aquatic Club
2020 Mary Kahn Davis Aquatics Masters
2019 Tim Edmonds Stanford Masters
2018 Mike Lynch Peninsula Community Center Masters
2017 Carol Nip Alameda Armada Aquatic Masters
2016 Mike Kazek CAL Maritime Academy Masters
2015 Mary Ann Nygren TriValley Masters
2014 Marcia Benjamin Marcia's Enthusiastic Masters of Oakland (MEMO)
2013 Tom Reudy San Mateo Masters
2012 Stu Kahn Davis Aquatic Masters
2011 Cokie Lepinski SwymNuts
2010 Chris Campbell Mountain View Masters
2009 Linda Gilchrist
2008 Laureen Welting
2007 Hermine Terhorst
2006 Valerie Boreyko
2005 Patty Scott-Bair
2004 Alan Liu
2003 Scott Williams
2002 Joel Wilson
2001 Sharlene Van Boer
2000 Marie McSweeny
1999 Tina Talbot
1998 Tim Sheeper
1997 Brian Stack
1996 Doug Huestis
1995 Mo Chambers
1994 Polly Kraemer-Upshaw
1993 Mike Collins
1992 Kerry O'Brien